UK Government Announces Additional Twelve Ultrafast Broadban

A further 12 cities have been chosen to share £50m funding for ultrafast broadband and public Wi-Fi, UK chancellor George Osborne has announced.

Aberdeen, Brighton, Cambridge, Coventry, Derby, Londonderry, Newport, Oxford, Perth, Portsmouth, Salford and York were the cities named in his Autumn Statement to receive superfast fibre networks - in addition to the existing list of 10 cities which were offered the opportunity to share a £100 million pot to benefit from similar speeds, back in the March Budget.

Culture secretary Maria Miller said: "The twelve cities have produced ambitious and comprehensive plans, which will turn them into digital leaders and give local economies a real boost."

The government is planning to invest £680m in an attempt to "deliver the best broadband in Europe," whilst the new scheme hopes to offer speeds of up to 100Mbps to both homes and businesses listed by the chancellor.

Numerous cities have already taken advantage of the speedy broadband services provided by commercial industry players, including BT's speeds of up to 330Mbps as well as Virgin's 120Mbps.

Miller added: "Fast broadband is essential for the growth and the creation of jobs. The new investment will help put these cities at the centre of the digital stage, competing for jobs and investment and supporting Britain in the global race."

Meanwhile, London is set to improve its profile with the launch of TechCity. Prime Minister David Cameron hopes to redevelop the area around Old Street roundabout to match that of Silicon Valley; and place the UK capital as the hub of Europe's technology industry.

print this article

Return to internet news headlines
View Internet News Archive

Share with: