Sales
0161 215 3700
0800 458 4545
Support
0800 230 0032
0161 215 3711

Facebookers Scammed into Seeing Who's Viewed

Facebookers Scammed into Seeing Who's Viewed

A Facebook app, that claims to reveal who has been viewing your profile has been found to be a scam and is hacking into thousands of accounts.

The ePrivacy app, which Sophos claims to have so far cheated 60,000 people, does not allow users to see who has been checking out their profile as advertised. As Facebook noted in July, there is no way anyone can see who has viewed their profile, and no way others can create and codes to do so.

The app is stealing private data from the user's Facebook account and then posts messages on their wall saying: "OMG OMG OMG… I cant believe this actually works! Now you really can see who viewed your profile!" Thereby luring more unlucky victims into the scam.

Security experts Sophos warned users on its nakedsecurity blog: "Plenty of Facebook users would *love* to know who has been checking them out online.. but unfortunately scammers are aware of this, and use the lure of such functionality as a way to trick you into making bad decisions."

Sophos suggested that to prevent further data theft, users should remove all references to the app in the news feed and then remove the right of the tool to access their profile via the privacy settings.


print this article

Return to internet news headlines
View Internet News Archive

Share with: