Sales
0161 215 3700
0800 458 4545
Support
0800 230 0032
0161 215 3711

Facebook Revamps Privacy Settings

Facebook Revamps Privacy Settings

Facebook has announced a major security revamp giving users more control over their privacy on the site.

One of the major changes, sees the introduction of items posted online will each have their own sharing settings determining who can see them.

It is the latest in a long line of attempts by Facebook to streamline how members manage their personal information, having been criticised in the past for complicating privacy settings.

Now when users are tagged in a post - such as a photographs, videos or status updates - they will have the option to confirm or remove the tag before it appears on their profile.

The main aim of this latest update is to reduce the problem of malicious tagging, which is often used by cyberbullies adding other people's names to unpleasant images.

Existing users will retain their current default sharing settings and be given the option of changing them using the new settings from Thursday 25 August.

The first time new Facebook members share a piece of content, their default suggestion will be public - which replaces the 'everyone' setting. If users select another option, that will become their default in future.


print this article

Return to internet news headlines
View Internet News Archive

Share with: