Live Chat

Welcome to UKFast, do you have a question? Our hosting experts have the answers.

Chat Now
Sarah UKFast | Account Manager

New committee for radioactive waste management

Defra has appointed a new radioactive waste management committee to cover the administration of waste across the UK and Northern Ireland.

It will play a key role in the storage and disposal of radioactive waste, and be involved with the devolved administration in Northern Ireland on the implementation of geological disposal of higher activity waste.

The Committee on Radioactive Waste Management (CoRWM) has appointed Dr Rebecca Lunn and Professor Andrew Sloan to play a key role in scrutinising both Government's and the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority's plans.

Environment minister Phil Woolas said that the appointments will strengthen the "scientific and technical expertise" of the CoRWM in areas that are "central to the development of storage and disposal facilities for higher activity radioactive waste".

"They will help the committee to deliver the required robust scrutiny and advice," he added.

In 2003 the CoRWM was set up by the UK and the devolved administrations in Northern Ireland and Wales and the appointment of its membership expired in August 2007.

print this article

Return to green news headlines
View Green News Archive

Share with: