Alexa metrics
Live Chat

Welcome to UKFast, do you have a question? Our hosting experts have the answers.

Chat Now
Sarah UKFast | Account Manager

Promoting the Pioneers of the Internet

30 July 2010 by Lady Penelope

I have always been impressed by visionary companies that look far into the future. The main difference between them and others within their industry is the passion for building something great that will last for generations to come.

Richard Branson is building Virgin not just for his children and their generation but for his great, great, great, great, grandchildren and their contemporaries. To do this, you have to surround yourself with pioneers, with people hungry for progress and in our digital society, people who can constantly innovate and push the boundaries.

This is why we love to be involved with the Digital Entrepreneur of the Year Awards, which honour the leaders of the internet. What I personally like about them is the fact that they do not just seek out owners of successful online businesses – those charismatic leaders who have the drive and ambition to build something special and gain recognition for their efforts. They also aim to find the technical wizards, the more reserved folk who are actually creating the internet and shaping the web as we know it.

As a dedicated server provider, we are lucky enough to see some of the most exciting web projects up close and have the chance to play a big part in their success. It’s very gratifying to unearth some of the web’s masterminds and be able to reward them for their efforts.

The 2010 DEAs launched last week and already, I’m told there are loads of entries coming in. And really excitingly, many of them are for the more technical categories.

Entry is really simple – there are three tailored questions for each of the 15 awards available. You are encouraged to write as much or as little as you wish to get your business or project across and the kind of things the judges are looking for are indicated in each entry form. The other great thing is that because the awards aim to be as inclusive as possible – they are free to enter.

You can find out more at the website –